CISA Domain 4: Information Systems Operations, Maintenance And Service Management

This article covers –
Understanding the domain in general
Exam-oriented concepts that you should focus on
The article is divided into 10 parts, as follows:
Part 1 – Information Systems operations Management of IS Operations, ITSM
Part 2 – Service level agreements, Operational level agreements, Incident and Problem Management process
Part 3 – Roles & responsibilities of support/help desk staff, Patch management, Change management, patch management, and release management.
Part 4 – Quality Assurance and Overview of DBMS Architecture and DBMS Management Systems
Part 5 – Data dictionary/Directory system, Database structure, OSI Architecture
Part 6 – Application OSI Model in Network Architecture, Topology, and LAN Components
Part 7 – WAN components and topology, Network performance metrics
Part 8 – Network Management issues, Network Management Tool and Overview of Disaster Recovery Planning.
Part 9 – Overview Recovery Point Objective (RPO), Recovery Time Objective (RTO), additional parameters for defining recovery strategies, and different types of recovery strategies
Part 10 – Different recovery/Continuity/response teams and their responsibilities, overview on back-up and restoration and the various disaster recovery testing methods

PART 1 – CISA Domain 4. Information Systems operations, Maintenance and Service Management
Domain 4: Understanding the domain from all angles
What is Information Systems Operations?
What are the best ways to manage IS operations?
What is IT service Management Framework?
Understanding the domain in general
Weightage – This domain accounts for 20 percent of the CISA exam (approximately thirty questions).
This Knowledge Statement covers 23 topics related to the auditing of information systems.
Understanding of service management frameworks
Service management techniques and service level management are well-known
Know how to monitor third-party performance, compliance with service agreements, and other regulatory requirements
Knowledge of enterprise architecture (EA).
Understanding the functionality of fundamental technology (e.g. hardware and network components, middleware, database management system, etc.)
Knowledge of system resilience tools and techniques (e.g. fault tolerance hardware, elimination of single point failure, clustering).
Knowledge of IT asset management, software license management, source code management, and inventory practices
Knowledge of job scheduling practices, and how to handle exceptions
The ability to control the integrity of system interfaces using control techniques
Knowledge of capacity planning and the related monitoring tools and techniques
Knowledge of system performance monitoring tools and techniques (e.g. network analyzers, system usage reports, load balancing, load balancing, etc.
Knowledge about data backup, storage, maintenance, and restoration practices
Knowledge of database optimization and management
Knowledge of data quality (completeness accuracy, integrity, and accuracy) and life cycle management (aging, preservation)
Management of incidents and problem solving
Knowledge of configuration management, release management, change management, and patch management practices
Information about operational risks and controls relating to end-user computing
Understanding of insurance, regulatory, contractual, and legal issues related to disaster recovery
Information about disaster recovery planning and business impact analysis (BIA).
The development and maintenance disaster recovery plans (DRPs).
Information about the benefits and drawbacks associated with alternative processing sites (e.g. hot sites, warm site, cold sites).
The knowledge of disaster recovery testing methods.
The processes that are used to invoke disaster recovery plans (DRPs).

Exam concepts:
1.Information Systems operations
Responsible for providing ongoing support for the computer environment and IS environment of an organization
It plays an important role in ensuring that

Comments are closed